Becoming a Unicorn

“Unicorns don’t care if you believe in them any more than you care if they believe in you.”
Regal Unicorn, Magic the Gathering Card

So now that I got that out of my system. I needed something to focus on to keep my mind off of everything, which, in retrospect was probably not the smartest thing to do seeing as the obsessing only put me in the hospital for a stress migraine and eye strain but still. My friend Nathan was dumped approximately on the same day I was and has been looking to get back onto the photography scene after losing all confidence on account of his now ex. So, the pink dress that I made a while back that SOMEONE hated because it was pink and SOMEONE got black oil paint on, it was time to let my masterpiece shine. I was challenged to make an evening gown for under $100. Done. The entire outfit cost less than the necklace I wore with.

IMG_1268The dress took me a couple months so obviously, epic accessories needed to go with. I posted the unicorn horn earlier this week and obviously I can’t be a unicorn without hooves. They started out as heelless shoes that I bought at Sirens. Besides, the boy always loved me in heels.

IMG_1241Since I already had the shoes, it was time for a trip to Micheals. I have been watching WAY too much Big Fat Gypsy Wedding. The jewel glue game me the worst headache, but I was addicted to the detail work.

IMG_1245

I wanted to continue the theme of the petals and water droplets in the dress so I used the crystals to make it look like I’d just stepped in water and pink crystals to mimic the embroidery and beadwork in the dress.

IMG_1246

I really didn’t want too much of the straps to show since they were the only parts of the shoes I didn’t really like in the first place. (I love those shoes but sacrifices must be made. Especially when you’re broke.)

IMG_1251

Then petals! I really didn’t want the shoes to have any traditional looking form. I wanted them to subtly hint at unicorn hooves while still flowing into the dress.

IMG_1253

It ended up being an epic explosion of petals, crystals and fabrics. I got lazy and pressed for time so I had to stop using the industrial strength jewel glue which held so much better and had to go with white glue which did not hold. (Seriously, I was looking crystals left right and centre at the shoot.) But Nathan was looking for something unique and unique is what he got.

IMG_1267Pictures of the shoot to follow.

I’ll be his unicorn. He’s the one who finally realized he loved me and that he made a mistake while I’ve realized it’s time to move on. I’m magical like that. Keep Calm and Regenerate.

 

“The people that see them share some of the unicorn’s traits – they’re lonely… with virtuous hearts.”
–from Ally McBeal

 

 

One thought on “Becoming a Unicorn

  1. Pingback: Last Caress | Magic in the Making

Leave a Reply

