‘Cause You Make Me Feel Like I’ve Been Locked Outta Heaven

#BlueHairDon'tCare

#BlueHairDon’tCare

Ok, it’s official. After three years of debating and searching and procrastinating I finally have my keyhole tattoo. I gotta remember to lock away a piece of my heart just for me, ya know? I told one of my favourite graffiti/painter/artists Sergio that I wanted a steampunk keyhole and fell in love with the sketch he sent me. Originally he was supposed to do it but never got around to it so lately I’ve been keeping my eyes out for someone who could replace him but I really wanted to have a similar connection with the tattoo artist as I had with Sergio.

Sergio's Concept

Steampunk and graffiti have always kinda been Sergio’s thing.

Sooo after looking around at a couple of places and being told that for the size and amount of detail I wanted it was impossible, I kinda put the whole project on the back burner. Then after a couple conversations with a body painter I’ve worked with, Wong, he steps up and says he’s going to do my tattoo. Just like that. No option, just fact. Having had a couple conversations with him about art, watching him body paint and completely falling in love with one of his paintings, I had to agree.

I still really want this for wherever I happen to settle.

I still really want this for wherever I happen to settle.

So after waiting and waiting and waiting I finally got a day off where Wong was going to pick me up and do the tat at his house. Of course we ended up running on Island time so it was an entire day affair but I’m so thrilled with the results. It was super laid back, chill, movies, tattoo. It was the kind of atmosphere I’m used to. It really didn’t hurt like everyone kept telling me and warning me. It was oddly comforting. It kind of silenced all the craziness that has been following me around like the plague lately. I could zone out and just be in my own head. I had a lot of time to kind of just think and meditate and sort everything out. Weird holiday huh?

"There has to be art behind it, there has to be soul. It has to be original or you're just a tattooer not a tattoo artist. You're just an ink co-oridinator." - Wong

“There has to be art behind it, there has to be soul. It has to be original or you’re just a tattooer not a tattoo artist. You’re just an ink co-oridinator.” – Wong

Blue hair, tattoos and a clothing designer. Oh if only my teenaged self could see me now!

“I can’t waste time so I give it a moment
I realize, nothing’s broken
No need to worry ’bout everything I’ve done
Live every second like it was my last one
Don’t look back at a new direction
I loved you once, needed protection
You’re still a part of everything I do
You’re on my heart just like a tattoo”

Leave a Reply

