My Little Baby Unicorn

“When the last moon is cast over the last star of morning
And the future has passed without even a last desperate warning
Then look into the sky where through the clouds a path is torn
Look and see her how she sparkles, it’s the last unicorn”

– America “The Last Unicorn”

So, I’ve been a little bit obsessed with unicorns lately for no real apparent reason. So during one of my sleepless nights I found a pattern on etsy for a plushie unicorn. I’d made most of my toys and stuffed animals when I was younger and haven’t really touched on it in recent years. I have no idea why. It’s creating and sculpting just like any other medium so I decided to give it a try.

IMG_1289

Fabricland was severely lacking in most fake furs so I had to improvise. I think it turned out better with the chocolate brown short fur. It gave a little more wiggle room for creativity. I think I may have drafted the pattern a little too big because I didn’t need that much seam allowance but it was only the first run. The pattern called for felt or faux suede for the hooves and inner ears but I didn’t have any so I just used some quilting scraps.

IMG_1285

Sculpting the features was a lot easier than I anticipated. I guess once you have a basic idea of the mediums you’re using and what you want the final product to look like it’s a lot easier to manipulate your fabrics. I used primsacolor markers to shade the white fur to blend in with the scrap fabrics I used for the ears and the bottoms of the hooves.

IMG_1292

I actually don’t know much about embroidery or felting so I just used sculpy to make the eyes and the horn. I think it gives it a little bit more character. I painted the horn with nail polish to give it more of a sparkly, metallic finish and I added some old false lashes to the eyes.

IMG_1290

How cute is this little, as of yet still nameless guy? I love his little goat like features which makes him a little more medieval style as opposed to cartoony. He looks like a little baby! What do you think? Keep making unicorns?

Any ideas for names?

Leave a Reply

