Goodbye Surreal-life

I got my ticket for the long way round

Two bottles of whiskey for the way
And I sure would like some sweet company
And I’m leaving tomorrow
what you say

When I’m gone…
When I’m gone..
You’re gonna miss me when I’m gone
You’re gonna miss me by my hair
You’re gonna miss me everywhere
Oh, you’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

 

One of the first tradeshows I ever did with Dawn

One of the first tradeshows I ever did with Dawn

It’s a little bit like the end of an era. I’m not sure how I feel about this nor do I believe that it had really sunken in as of yet. I am no longer employed. I will no longer be living with Dawn. What am I going to do? I’m so used to spending like all my time with her working and hanging out it is going to be so weird. What other job will I ever have that has a one minute commute during rush hour scuttling down the stairs from my room to the basement studio?

625530_10151900037682402_664969253_n

I love Dawn dearly and I really owe her a great deal. She has been way more than a friend and mentor to me she has become family and I would not have been able to make it through such a troubling time without her support and guidance. Living with her has been surreal, leaving her seems doubly so. Thank you Dawn and Love, Poetry Corsets!

Steam on Queen 2012

Steam on Queen 2012

 

On the note of Love, Poetry Corsets.

FanExpo 2013

FanExpo 2013

For those of you out there who constantly complain about the high price of artisan crafts right in front of the creator, please listen up:

Just because you can buy something mass produced elsewhere does not make our merchandise “ridiculous” or lower quality. If you’re going to be rude and say things like “who the hell would pay that kind of money for that?” right in front of us, please kindly keep it to yourself. Our prices are not unreasonable. Why? Let me tell you. We had to pay to be at that tradeshow you are browsing. We had to drive there. We had to turn a part of our house into a studio to create every single one of the creations you saw displayed in front of you. We put up our booth by ourselves and pack it away and move it to the next show. We have to buy the materials you are caressing. We had to wrestle with all that metal hardware that defines the quality of our products as opposed to the plastic that is a cheaper option elsewhere.

photo 1

You don’t want to pay for quality? That’s fine.  No one is telling you otherwise. In the day and age where everything is disposable, why would you want something well made to last when you can just get a new one cheap as a one off?

photo 2-2 copy

Let me break down all the work that goes into our corsets. We design that corsets, sometimes we even draft those patterns. We size those patterns. We sew the shells and lining by hand. Cut the boning by hand and insert the busks. We insert the grommets into metal. We lace them. We add trim. Sometimes we even handstitch beads and lace. I spent the last three days creating the corset you say pictured above. Thirty hours of hand stitching lace and wrestling a sewing machine. You may not be able to afford something handcrafted and that’s perfectly ok, but never forget that it is handcrafted and handcrafted with love. Some people still do actually work until their fingers bleed. Please respect the artist. Dawn is an incredible woman who has struggled to singlehandedly run this operation for ten years so please don’t insult her if you see her selling her gorgeous creations by saying something like “who the hell would pay that kind of money for that?”

Love is a Greyscale

Love is a Greyscale

Respect for all guys. That’s all.

Lesley with Love is a Greyscale "When I look into your eyes It's like watching the night sky Or a beautiful sunrise There's so much they hold And just like them old stars I see that you've come so far To be right where you are How old is your soul?" -Jason Mraz

Lesley with Love is a Greyscale
“When I look into your eyes
It’s like watching the night sky
Or a beautiful sunrise
There’s so much they hold
And just like them old stars
I see that you’ve come so far
To be right where you are
How old is your soul?”
-Jason Mraz

 

Leave a Reply

