Last Unicorn

“We are both lost
And we won’t be found.
She was my compass,
He was your map,
We’ve come too far to be turning back.
And we’ll sit on our single beds,
Nothing on our hearts and tears on our threads,
For we know the last unicorn is dead.” – Last Unicorn by Passenger

IMG_1452

There’s so many things you wish you could be when you grow up as a kid that, as a adult, you start to lose faith in. Whether it’s an impossible dream or the reality just isn’t as shiny as it used to be. I really wanted wings when I was a kid and was absolutely crushed when I was told that it was impossible and that it just wasn’t going to happen. I cried to my Papa about it and he told me that if I wanted wings, I’d find a way to get my wings.  Well Papa, I figured it out. Maybe not the wings bit, but the horn to be a unicorn.

If you’ve been following my blog lately you may have picked up on my obsession with unicorns and crafting. After about a week of mad sculpting, molding, casting, sanding, refining, redesigning, gluing and embellishing, I finally have it! My unicorn circlet! I’ve been seeing a lot of them floating around Etsy and Pintrest and really wanted one but they all seem to be too big or too expensive, so I made my own. Cast in plastic and customized. Not the polymer super sculpy I’ve been seeing a lot of that is way too heavy and would be a pain in the ass to reproduce over and over. A big shout out to Sam at Drunkin’ Fish Creations for the materials suggestions. So hopefully soon I’ll be able to have my Etsy shop up and running.

IMG_1455

 

Leave a Reply

