Angelica the Zebracorn

“Only one who has nothing to lose, and everything to gain, would commit such a crime. The blood of a unicorn will keep you alive, even if you are an inch from death, but at a terrible price. You have slain something so pure and defenceless to save yourself, you will have but a half-life, a cursed life, from the moment the blood touches your lips.”

—Firenze to Harry Potter

IMG_1481

I know many people can relate to this, they just get off work when their cellphone is exploding from one of their friend’s. In my case, it was a few years ago, I’d just settled into a new apartment in a new city. I’d just started getting close to some of the girls at my work and I got that text “where are you girl? I’m coming to pick you up I gotta talk to you.” It was Angelica.

I’d first met Angelica when she was getting ready to interview at my work. I’d smiled at the pretty, nervous girl all decked out in her best waiting to see my boss. We hit it off from there. We talked, we texted, we gossiped, we agonized over love lives. The girl had spunk, she was so full of life and smiles and laughter. You wanted to be around her.

549421_10151458176011306_1357579341_n

Then, he broke her heart. I’d never seen my friend, that feisty, full of attitude girl looked so defeated. She ranted and raved and screamed. We drove, just to drive, blaring music as if it could drown out the sound of her heartbreaking.

I hurt for her.

As a friend, of course I told her that he would be missing her, that she was too good for him, that a good guy wouldn’t cause her so much pain (or cheat on her with a stripper. Just sayin’.) It’s kinda funny how one person can take a larger than life heart and bring it crumbling down.

But life goes on. I moved to another city. We didn’t talk or see each other that much. She moved on to a new man. He didn’t move on. Luckily enough, she was stronger than to take him back. She’s worth way more than that.

So why am I telling you all this? Since the beginning of the year, I’ve ridden a rollarcoaster ride with some of my closest friends and some new ones I’ve met along the way. I’ve watched hearts of gold shatter, melt and be molded into something new and more beautiful than before. These friends have become my unicorns.

Traditionally, unicorns are something pure, beautiful, magical and healing. I’ve seen those qualities in every single one of those hearts that I have watched shattered. I’ve watched them retreat into invisibleness because nobody else believed in them. They were cast aside because someone else’s heart was too cold or they were reaching for stars that were born of dying light. As we grow into adulthood, we lose all our beliefs in magic and our love for the wonders that surround us and those beautiful unicorns that I’ve grown to love and care for so much fade to the background. Once in a while, someone actually braves the wilds of the magical forests too look for those unicorns, some of them are captured and broken down again but others are find someone who will cherish them for the treasures that they are.

That’s what I wish for all my unicorns.

I created Angelica the Zebracorn with that Angelica in mind. All her spunk, captured in the Zebra prints. That long black hair I’ve helped style to give her back her confidence, echoed in her black mane. I sculpted and painted up her eyes to reflect the real Angelica’s eyes, dark and mysterious but always laughing with the feather lashes as a nod to how we met as makeup artists. Flecks of gold for her love of all that sparkles. Super soft and cuddly just like the bear hugs I get from her every time she sees me and launches herself across the room at me.

IMG_1480 IMG_1439

This isn’t just a plushie, but a soft sculpture of one of my real life unicorns. A unicorn who loves music to keep her positive and her love of life reflects in her sparkling eyes. A dark haired beauty who loves with all her heart if given the opportunity.

IMG_1482

Name: Angelica

Birthday: July 4

Species: Zebracorn

Size: 13” x 8”

Materials: Fake Fur, Plastic, False Lashes

Eyes: Hand sculpted, molded and cast in plastic

Available for Adoption: COMING SOON

One thought on “Angelica the Zebracorn

  1. Caitlin! To have a friend like you, I couldn’t be luckier. You have always been supportive of me and caring, and I find it so incredibly difficult to see you go. But I wish you nothing but the best in all your amazing adventures and I do hope we meet again. My zebracorn is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen! I really needed to see this post today, I swear you just know me. I love you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

