Dawn Poetry the Baby Yetticorn

IMG_1500

I first met Dawn completely by accident. I was in college and needed an internship. The first company I applied to rebuffed me and sent me along to Dawn. Obviously this was a wonderful twist of fate. She took me on at Love, Poetry Corsets and I never left. I completely invested myself into her amazing business because I believed in the unique craftsmanship and I believed in Dawn.

Dawn was everything I wanted to be. Beautiful. Talented. Kind. Gracious. Fun-loving. Just an all around wonderful person to be around. She taught me so much about sewing, fashion, modelling, business and also about life. She taught me patience. She taught me diplomacy, how to carefully consider my words so I didn’t say something I would later regret, how to compromise. She taught me how to stand up for myself without coming across as a total b!tch. She taught me about relationships, how life can be.

She introduced me to sides of life I would never have thought I would ever get to see. With her I got to travel, see different lifestyles, meet so many new people. She was the one who introduced me to the concept of the “unicorn” that I have been basing my art on as of late. Most of the unicorns I have been posting were born in her basement studio amidst a heaven of fabrics and findings and corsets.

1982192_10153858103595005_2057413640_n

Dawn took me in when I had no where to go, was always the first person to be there for me when times got rough. A true friend through and through. She is always the first person I call and no matter what, she is there. She showed up my house, ice cream in hand and to just be there with me while I cried over a broken heart. Kicked me in the butt when I really needed it, always gave her honest opinion while trying to help push me back on my feet, gave me an iron support system because that’s the kind of person she is. She puts other people first no matter what the cost to herself, is always so cute and thoughtful.

My heart always breaks when I see people take advantage of her and don’t appreciate her the way she truly deserves to be. She is a one of a kind woman who truly showed me how to be a woman. Her heart is so large that she actually makes herself sick worrying about other people. I hate seeing her stressed out all the time trying to take on the world and fighting an uphill battle the entire way. She is a precious unicorn that you will only meet once in a lifetime and if you are lucky enough to be graced with her love and friendship, you will be blessed for the rest of your life.

Dawn Poetry in my series is a baby yetticorn, derpy and unique but full of adorableness. She is white and fluffy like a traditional medieval unicorn but in the words of Agnes from “Despicable Me” (one of our shared favourites,) “IT’S SO FLUFFY I’M GONNA DIE!!!!” She’s very traditional with her own very unique twist. A little glitter for all the glittery nights we’ve shared at various parties or events. Curly showgirl lashes after her famous doll-like lashes whenever she gets all done up. Large expressive blue eyes for all the kind looks with a hint of mischief. A little bit of blue tinge to her mane for all the crazy colours she’s had in her hair and for the blue hair makeover she did on me. (Seriously, there’s nothing this woman can’t do.)

IMG_1501 IMG_1499

This is a soft sculpture portrait of one of my best friends, not just a cuddle toy to give you a hug when your own heart is broken. I never want to see this unicorn heartbroken. Beneath all that fluff and fuzzy is a heart of gold and an inner strength the likes of which you have never seen. She’ll take care of you, love you unconditionally and always be there for whatever you need if you treasure her and take care of her. And despite all her magic and mysticism, her heart is in the open fields of the country. Don’t let the glitz and glam fool you, she’s very down to earth.

Name: Dawn Poetry

Birthday: March 14

Species: Baby Yetticorn

Size: 13” x 8”

Materials: Fake Fur, Plastic, False Lashes

Eyes: Hand sculpted, molded and cast in plastic

Available for Adoption: COMING SOON

Leave a Reply

