True Colours

So I’ve been posting a lot of my art lately, but I know so many incredibly talented artists! I completely surround myself with them. Sarah, my best friend, the other half of my brain happens to be one of the most talented people I’ve ever come across. (In case you were wondering, yes, it IS the Sarah from my Wooly Unicorn post.) Last Saturday, we were supposed to collaborate on a body painting for the opening of the new location of Kryart Studio Gallery. We were so excited! After how many years we were going to collaborate? But fate is a funny, fickle friend and all our models seemed to back out at the last minute. We were crushed but the show must go on! She already had an idea in mind that, as artists will understand, HAD to come out. What was there left to do? I stepped up to the plate.

And I’m so glad I did! We had such a blast and we couldn’t be happier with the results. They requested abstract art and Sarah absolutely delivered!

(C) Masha Nazina Photography

(C) Masha Nazina Photography

(C) Masha Nazina Photography

(C) Masha Nazina Photography

(C) Masha Nazina Photography

(C) Masha Nazina Photography

I’m so used to being the body painter that it was such an experience being on the other end of the brush! I totally now feel for all of my models. For everyone who has ever had to model for me, THANK YOU SO MUCH for putting up with the standing, the odd positions, and all my humming and hawing. (Oh and not having to go to the bathroom too!) I can’t get over what a buzz it was to be swept up in such an intense creative project. It was an honour and a privilege to be involved in especially with my best friend.

(C) Sarah Ebisuzaki 2014

(C) Sarah Ebisuzaki 2014

(C) Sarah Ebisuzaki 2014

(C) Sarah Ebisuzaki 2014

 

IMG_1515

(C) Sarah Ebisuzaki 2014

So being painted, I had no idea what I looked like. Not wearing my glasses certainly didn’t help in the least.That may have actually been a blessing in disguise seeing as it was more of a performance art piece than anything so I didn’t get stage fright but I was so floored when I saw the final result. I was a piece of art! I completely blended in with the rest of the gallery.  I felt like I should have been in Cirque Du Soliel (so naturally I climbed up the side of the wall and hung off a pipe but that’s beyond the point)

IMG_1525edit

(C) Sarah Ebisuzaki 2014

This entire experience was made so incredible just by the fact that Sarah and I get each other. We bounced off of each other’s vibes as we always do. She truly is one of the most talented people I know as well as my sister.

You with the sad eyes
Don’t be discouraged
Oh I realize
It’s hard to take courage
In a world full of people
You can lose sight of it all
And the darkness inside you
Can make you feel so small

But I see your true colors
Shining through
I see your true colors
And that’s why I love you
So don’t be afraid to let them show
Your true colors
True colors are beautiful,
Like a rainbow

Leave a Reply

